Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
What you see is what you get
What you see is what you get
Archives
28 juin 2004

La Couleur Rose

It is terrible to be from deep south of France sometimes,

Althought I am now living above the Loire river for 4 years (which for most people living near Toulouse is the ultimate fronter North), my beautiful yet pretty and discreet Toulouse accent shows up at random, unexpected times ie : during a meeting at work or when with people living since forever in the Paris area.
That s the reason why I sometimes have to use stratagems not to use those guilty words betraying my origins (yes, it does happen that people think you are retarded because not born in Fabulous City of Love and Light....).The key words not to use are : rose, jaune and cote among other.
( That s pink, yellow and... rib)

Otherwise, this WE, in New York and Paris it was Gay Pride (it has a different name in French since Gay Pride is a trademark for the use of which you have to pay), an event which I have to say, I cherish a lot but I never really attended in personn.
Nevertheless I love the idea of pride. I think that, when Gay or Bi or Trans or whatever in between, walk down the street with pride (or rather without shame or a feeling of insecurity) they act with courage.
I mean, I have never been very closeted (except maybe when I was really young I admit) but I am sure that for many people taking part of this walk is a major step toward self love and confidence.

I think of a movie with Margaret Cho in which she is talking about why you should NEVER feel ashame of who you are, during this excerpt of her show she insists on the fact that because you feel ashamed of what you are you fail on many things : you do not dare to protest if ennoyed by people because of your difference, you get discriminated and do not dare to complain because you feel like your difference won t have you heard from the authorities, do not go voting because you feel like you are not part of any community that he worth respect when your voice is as important as the any other one etc... and in the end you just deny yourself the right to be you just because you are afraid of what people around you will do or say..

I know it s easy for me to talk this way : I work (or at least intern for) fashion companies ever since I began my professional studies (and as everybody knows it is an industry in which being gay is not really a problem), my parents have been a great support (I will always thanks them for that, telling me they love me not matter what - surprisingly enough my father has been a huge help) and living in Toulouse when young allowed me to see that a "community" was here, and that, in the end I was not sick or mentally ill because I loved boys.

Chris gave this interesting link to Leonard, who transmitted it to me. It pretty much reflects my view on things too I have to say....

Publicité
Commentaires
*
Salut, je suis *nectarine*, je t'avais aidé pour les pop-ups, et apparement tu avais rencontré quelques problèmes. <br /> Désolée de ce ratards, mais, je fesais le vide dans la boîte mail ( me reste plus que 150 messages à lire //Very Happy :o) )et J'ai retrouver ton mail, donc je suis allée sur ton blog, et j'ai trouvé tes photos superbes !<br /> Sincérement, surtout ton couché de soleil ! en noir, j'adore !<br /> Je te post un commentaire ici, bien qu'il ne répond pas à ton post, mais j'avais peur que tu ne lise pas ce que j'écrive dans l'autre comme tu as dit que tu n'écrirais plus.<br /> <br /> Voilà, désolée pour le retard, et bonne continuation pour tes photo, je me les ai enregistrées, t'as du passer un superbe voyage dans ce Pays, je t'envie ...<br /> <br /> Amicalement, Lawrence.
What you see is what you get
Publicité
Albums Photos
Publicité